TOWN OF SCOTTSVILLE

Town Council Regular SessionNovember 20, 2023, 7pm
Victory Hall
401 Valley Street
Scottsville, Virginia

Mayor
Ron Smith
Members
Alex Bessette
Dan Gritsko
Meredith Hynes
Bill Hyson
Aileen Morse
Edward Payne

MINUTES

- 1. Call to order, roll call of Town Council, and pledge of allegiance: Town Council meeting was called to order at 7:05 pm by Mayor Smith. The council members present were Bill Hyson, Aileen Morse, and Meredith Hynes. Town Administrator, Javier Raudales and Town Clerk, Melodye Courter were present. Mayor Smith attended the meeting via Zoom from home due to illness and stated that the Town Council did not have a sufficient quorum to hold a meeting but would like to extend some time to hear from the public who were present in the council chamber that evening out of courtesy.
- Consent calendar: The consent calendar was skipped since there was no quorum and the Town
 Council did not have a quorum to vote, all items intended originally for this meeting were
 moved to the next meeting in December 2023.
- 3. **Public comments**: Since members of the public were sitting in the audience, the council member present asked if members of the public wished to share anything with the council members present. Nancy R. Schlichting, who lives outside town and is the attorney representing the Rivera Club, asked that the club be grandfathered into permitted use within the commercial district. Jack Maxwell spoke to share that internet went out for 8 hours earlier in the month and discussed the lack of available responses to an internet outage. Town Council discussed the need for improvements in internet service in town with members of the public in addition to discussing it with Supervisor Price, who was present that evening.
- 4. **Adjournment**: Due to internet issues, Mayor Ron Smith was disconnected from the meeting. Since the Town Council lacked a quorum to hold a meeting Meredith Hynes motioned to adjourn the meeting, Bill Hyson seconded the motion, the council members disbanded at 7:29 pm.

Minutes prepared by Melodye Courter, Clerk of Council and were adopted by the Town Council on December 18, 2023.

Attest:	
	Melodye Courter
	Clerk of Council
Attest:	
	Ron Smith
	Mayor